Explore UPSC ESE topics and choose a free practice test.
Choose a quick set, a subject or a full mock. Solve with a timer and review your results.
Official source for 2027
Source document: UPSC Engineering Services Examination 2027 notification, Section III
UPSC notified the 2027 examination on 16 September 2026. Section III gives ten common General Studies and Engineering Aptitude areas and separate engineering-discipline Paper I/II headings. The 58 headings below preserve those branches; candidates study only their chosen engineering discipline. These are official top-level headings, not every subtopic in the 62-page notice.
Check original source ↗UPSC · Engineering Services Examination 2027 notice, Appendix I · Source year 2027 · Document date 2026-09-16 · Last reviewed 2026-09-28
Four discipline routes: Civil, Mechanical, Electrical or Electronics & Telecommunication. Question counts are not fixed in the notice's scheme.
| Section | Questions | Marks | Minutes | Paper language |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Studies and Engineering Aptitude | — | 200 | 120 | Not specified on linked page |
| Chosen engineering discipline | — | 300 | 180 | Not specified on linked page |
| Total | — | 500 | 300 | — |
Two papers in the chosen engineering discipline; written in English.
| Section | Questions | Marks | Minutes | Paper language |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Discipline Paper I | — | 300 | 180 | English |
| Discipline Paper II | — | 300 | 180 | English |
| Total | — | 600 | 360 | — |
UPSC · ESE 2027 notice, Appendix I · Exam cycle 2027 · Source published 2026-09-16
UPSC fixes paper-wise minimum qualifying marks and shortlists after the exam. The 2027 notice does not publish a fixed category-wise preliminary, main or final selection score. Stage I, II and interview marks all count for final rank.
Read authority source ↗